Under Pressure

“Pressure pushing down on me
Pressing down on you, no man ask for
Under pressure that burns a building down
Splits a family in two
Puts people on streets”

Sitting at my desk reading roughly one hundred pages worth of material for class, and pounding my brain for things that can set me apart as I apply for internships, this stirring song by Queen and David Bowie comes to mind. It is in my nature to take on big jobs and carry a lot of responsibility, I like the challenge! I like the feeling that I get when I surprise myself and others around me by succeeding. So being the glutton for being busy that I am, I took on a full eighteen hours this semester. I have finance, marketing, professional editing (the hardest and best class ever!), business writing, and renaissance literature.There is a TON of reading, some editing, business writing, and well then there is that business minor stuff that I really just spend hours beating my head against the wall about.

In all I am swamped!

I admit it is overwhelming and while I have been waking up just as exhausted as I went to bed, I love it! Okay I sound crazy, maybe I am, but I enjoy being busy. Being the dreamer that I am I hope to land a job as editor-in-chief at a publishing agency, while at the same time writing my first bestseller.

I want the go, go, go lifestyle only interrupted by small breaks of slowdown. I guess I just like the pressure.

I’m not saying it isn’t hard, or that I don’t want to rip my hair out at times, I’m just saying that I embrace the work because I know that the reward is always worth it.

Leave a Reply

